"The sweet escape" song of the year at ascap awards

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Timbaland was named ASCAP’s songwriter of the year and EMI Music Publishing was deemed top publisher for the sixth consecutive year at the 25th annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards held Wednesday at the Kodak Theater.

Fergie’s hit “Big Girls Don’t Cry” and Gwen Stefani’s “The Sweet Escape” tied for song of the year. “Big Girls” was penned by Fergie (Stacy Ferguson) and Toby Gad; Stefani, Akon and Giorgio Tuinfort wrote “The Sweet Escape.”

Awards were also presented to the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP’s most performed pop songs of 2007.

Besides “Big Girls” and “Sweet Escape,” the top 5 included “Irreplaceable,” written by Beyonce, Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen; “It’s Not Over,” written by Gregg Wattenberg; and “Say It Right,” written by Nelly Furtado and Timbaland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.