Tragic Kingdom
Released: 10/10/1995
Formats: Album, cassette tape, vinyl, digital
Total length: 59:38
Labels: Interscope (Trauma)

(See more album artwork)


  1. Spiderwebs (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:28)
  2. Excuse Me Mr. (G. Stefani, T. Dumont) (3:06)
  3. Just A Girl (G. Stefani, T. Dumont) (3:29)
  4. Happy Now? (G. Stefani, T. Dumont, T. Kanal) (3:44)
  5. Different People (E. Stefani, G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:35)
  6. Hey You (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (3:35)
  7. The Climb (E. Stefani) (6:39)
  8. Sixteen (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (3:22)
  9. Sunday Morning (T. Kanal, G. Stefani, E. Stefani) (4:33)
  10. Don’t Speak (E. Stefani, G. Stefani) (4:23)
  11. You Can Do It (G. Stefani, E. Stefani, T. Dumont, T. Kanal) (4:15)
  12. Wold Go ‘Round (T. Kanal, G. Stefani) (4:09)
  13. End It On This (G. Stefani, T. Dumont, T. Kanal, E. Stefani) (3:47)
  14. Tragic Kingdom (E. Stefani) (5:31)


Alternate Releases: 



Additional Information:

Tragic Kingdom was recorded between March 1993 – early 1995 in eleven different studios around Los Angeles. The album was produced by Matthew Wilder and mixed by Paul Palmer. Palmer originally just mixed the first single “Just A Girl”, than was signed on for the full album. Tragic Kingdom was released on October 10, 1995, on Trauma Records, a division of Interscope Records, and owned by Palmer. The album is named after the nickname Tom’s 7th grade teacher had for Disneyland, which is in Anaheim, California, where the band members grew up. It is a pun on the popular nickname for Disneyland — “The Magic Kingdom”.

The album photography and portraits were taken by photographer fine artist Daniel Arsenault. Gwen is featured in the foreground while the rest of the band members are standing in an orange grove in the background. Gwen pushed for Eric to be included on the album cover — a source of tension for the band — reasoning that although he had left the band, he had still contributed substantially to the album. Eric is seen near the back of the picture, looking away from the camera.

The album did not appear on the Billboard 200 chart until the first week of January 1996. Tragic Kingdom eventually reached the top of the Billboard 200 albums chart in December 1996, and it remained there for eight weeks with the release of “Don’t Speak”.

Tragic Kingdom received mostly positive reviews from critics and went on to sell over 16 million copies.