The Sweet Escape
Released: 12/5/2006
Formats: Album, vinyl, digital
Total length: 47:46
Label: Interscope

(See more album artwork)


  1. Wind It Up (G. Stefani, P. Williams, R. Rodgers, O. Hammerstein II) (3:09)
  2. The Sweet Escape (G. Stefani, A. Thiam, G. Tuinfort) (4:06)
  3. Orange County Girl (G. Stefani, P. Williams) (3:23)
  4. Early Winter (G. Stefani, T. Rice-Oxley) (4:44)
  5. Now That You Got It (G. Stefani, S. Garrett, K. Dean) (2:59)
  6. 4 In The Morning (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:51)
  7. Yummy (G. Stefani, P. Williams) (4:57)
  8. Fluorescent (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:18)
  9. Breakin’ Up (G. Stefani, P. Williams) (3:46)
  10. Don’t Get It Twisted (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (3:37)
  11. U Started It (G. Stefani, P. Williams) (3:08)
  12. Wonderful Life (G. Stefani, L. Perry) (3:58)


Alternate Releases: 


Additional Information: 

Gwen released her second solo studio album domestically on December 5, 2006. Having originally intended to return to No Doubt after her 2004 solo album Love.Angel.Music.Baby., Gwen decided to record a second album as a way to release some of the material left over from the L.A.M.B. writing sessions. After the commercial success of L.A.M.B., she decided to release several leftover tracks from the album as an EP or as extra tracks on a DVD. However, Pharrell Williams, with whom she had collaborated to write “Hollaback Girl”, convinced Gwen to create “a L.A.M.B. part two”, and the two recorded several songs during sessions in Miami, Florida in July 2005, including “Orange County Girl”, “Breakin’ Up” “Yummy”, “U Started It”, “Wind It Up” and “Candyland”, which remains unreleased but a favorite among fans because of it’s usage in a L.A.M.B. fashion show.

Gwen put the project on hold in December 2005 when she discovered that she was pregnant, but returned to the studio in August 2006. The album’s working title was Candyland, sharing its name with an unreleased track that has only been looped via her fashion show soundtrack. The title was changed to The Sweet Escape, the title of the second track, to emphasize the album’s themes of wanting to escape to a better life.

The Sweet Escape received mixed responses from critics. It was moderately successful in North America, but did not achieve the success of its predecessor. The album sold 243,000 copies in the United States during its first week, debuting at number three on the Billboard 200. It sold another 149,000 copies during its second week, falling to number fourteen. The Sweet Escape went on to sell close to 2 million copies.