Return of Saturn
Released: 4/11/2000
Formats: Album, cassette tape, vinyl, digital
Total length: 60:42
Labels: Interscope (Trauma)

(See more album artwork)


  1. Ex-Girlfriend (G. Stefani, T. Dumont, T. Kanal) (3:31)
  2. Simple Kind Of Life (G. Stefani) (4:16)
  3. Bathwater (G. Stefani, T. Kanal, T. Dumont) (4:03)
  4. Six Feet Under (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (2:28)
  5. Magic’s In The Makeup (G. Stefani, T. Dumont) (4:21)
  6. Artificial Sweetener (G. Stefani, T. Kanal, T. Dumont) (3:54)
  7. Marry Me (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:39)
  8. New (G. Stefani, T. Dumont) (4:26)
  9. Too Late (G. Stefani, T. Dumont, T. Kanal) (4:14)
  10. Comforting Lie (G. Stefani, T. Dumont, T. Kanal) (2:53)
  11. Suspension Without Suspense (G. Stefani) (4:10)
  12. Staring Problem (G. Stefani, T. Kanal, T. Dumont, E. Stefani) (2:44)
  13. Home Now (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:35)
  14. Dark Blue (G. Stefani, T. Dumont) (4:35)
  15. Too Late (Instrumental)
  16. European and Australian bonus track: Big Distraction (G. Stefani, T. Dumont) (3:34)
    Japanese bonus track: Full Circle (G. Stefani, T. Kanal, T. Dumont) (3:16)


Alternate Releases:



Additional Information:

Return of Saturn was composed from over two dozen songs written after the band came from a two and a half year tour. After interviewing several producers, they chose to work with Glen Ballard and turned out some of their most serious work to date. Ballard ended up going through the band’s 40 rough demos for the album and tossed out about half of them. They frequently missed due dates, arguing that hurrying the album to cash in on the success of Tragic Kingdom was unwise since three years had passed. No Doubt than released “New” for the Go soundtrack, a first for them, in 1999.

By that July, the band stopped work on the album, intending to be done with the record. Interscope, however, recommended that they continue writing so they would have a more marketable single. The band was split when singer Gwen Stefani offered to do so but drummer Adrian Young and guitarist Tom Dumont did not want to, hesitant to trust Interscope after it had sublicensed Tragic Kingdom to Trauma Records. After a brief break, Dumont sent Stefani some of his demos as a peace offering. The band returned to the studio to create more upbeat songs and penned “Ex-Girlfriend” and “Simple Kind of Life”. More recording, audio mixing and audio mastering were done late that year, and David LaChapelle photographed the band for the album cover in January 2000.

The album’s working title was originally announced as Magic’s in the Makeup in May 1998 and later as Saturn Returns in November 1999. Another working title was Artificial Sweetener. No Doubt finally settled on Return of Saturn with a push from Gwen.

The album received 16 “generally favorable reviews” from music critics, as Metacritic gave it a 68 out of 100. In the United States the album debuted at number two on the Billboard 200 and sold 202,000 copies in its first week.