Released: 11/14/2004
Formats: Album, cassette tape, vinyl, digital
Total length: 48:27
Label: Interscope

(See more album artwork)


  1. What You Waiting For? (G. Stefani, L. Perry) (3:41)
  2. Rich Girl (M. Batson, J. Bock, K. DioGuardi, M. Elizondo, Eve, S. Harnick, C. Kreviazuk, G. Stefani, A. Young) (3:38)
  3. Hollaback Girl (G. Stefani, P.Williams, C.Hugo) (3:19)
  4. Cool (G. Stefani, D. Austin) (3:09)
  5. Bubble Pop Electric (A. Benjamin, G. Stefani, Seven) (3:42)
  6. Luxurious (G. Stefani, T. Kanal, R. Isley, O. Isley, R. Isley, E. Isley, M. Isley, C. Jasper) (4:24)
  7. Harajuku Girls (G. Stefani, J. Harris III, T. Lewis, J. Quenton Wright, B. Ross Avila, I. J. Avila) (4:51)
  8. Crash (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:06)
  9. The Real Thing (G. Stefani, L. Perry, G. Rossdale ) (4:12)
  10. Serious (G. Stefani, T. Kanal) (4:48)
  11. Danger Zone (G. Stefani, D. Austin, L. Perry) (3:37)
  12. Long Way To Go (A. Benjamin, G. Stefani) (4:34)


Alternate Releases: 


  • Love.Angel.Music.Baby. Japanese and UK Import came with two bonus tracks: “The Real Thing” (Wendy and Lisa Slow Jam Mix) and “What You Waiting For?” (Elevator Mix)

  • Love.Angel.Music.Baby. Double Sided Vinyl


Additional Information: 

Love.Angel.Music.Baby. is Gwen Stefani’s debut solo album that was released on in the US on November 23, 2004. The album, which was just intended as a small project, ended up launching a very successful solo career lasting for close to four years.

Love.Angel.Music.Baby. was designed as an updated version of a 1980s music record, and was influenced by artists such as early Madonna, New Order, Cyndi Lauper, Depeche Mode, The Cure, Lisa Lisa and Cult Jam, Debbie Deb, and Club Nouveau. Most of the songs on the album are thematically focused on fashion and wealth. The album introduced the Harajuku Girls, four backup dancers who dress in Stefani’s interpretation of the youth fashion trends of Harajuku, a district in Tokyo, Japan.

While No Doubt was on tour to promote Rock Steady, Gwen listened to Club Nouveau’s 1987 single “Why You Treat Me So Bad” and considered recording material that modernized 1980s music. She approached Tony, who had introduced her to music by Prince, Lisa and Cult Jam, and Debbie Deb, and they talked about producing songs from Kanal’s bedroom. They started recording in 2003. Gwen originally wanted her solo material to be released on soundtracks, not a full blown album, of if she did, under the name “GS”. With  a little convincing from Interscope’s Jimmy Iovine, she decided on doing a complete solo project.

Gwen first met with collaborator, Linda Perry, and the two women didn’t hit it off creatively on the first attempt. On the second day together, “What You Waiting For?” was written, the lead single which is about Gwen’s fears and writers block while approaching the solo project. Gwen ended up leaving the project when the two started working on a song that was “too personal” for her and then went to bandmate Tony. Tony had already been working on some stuff for her album, including “Crash”. Gwen and Tony continued to write together for an additional two weeks but quit when nothing more was coming out. After a six month break, Gwen started working with other collaborators including Outkast’s Andre 3000 (“Long Way To Go” was an outtake from his The Love Below sessions in 2003), Dr. Dre and returning to The Neptunes (“Hella Good”).

“What You Waiting For?”, one of the first songs written for L.A.M.B., was chosen as the lead single as an “explanation for doing the record”. L.A.M.B. received generally positive reviews from contemporary pop music critics. The album debuted on the US Billboard 200 at number seven, selling 309,000 copies. The album yielded six singles and had high sales, going multi-platinum in several countries, and selling eight million copies worldwide. It earned Gwen six Grammy Award nominations in 2005 and 2006.

This album yielded Gwen’s most successful song to date, “Hollaback Girl”, which was the first song in history to reach 1,000,000 digital downloads and landed her in the Guinness Book of World Records in 2006.